This might sound like I am whinging but here goes… Buses are too expensive.

I recently had to go across town to a meeting then back to town for a second meeting and then home again. I did not have access to the car and had to carry some quite heavy stuff so couldn’t really walk or cycle. The journey cost me…

  • Home to town centre £1.50 (2.3 miles)
  • Town centre to first meeting £1.50 (2.3 miles)
  • Back to town centre £1.50 (2.3 miles)
  • Town centre back home again £1.50 (2.4 miles)

That’s a total of£6 for 9.3 miles.

If I could have used the car the petrol would have cost me about about £1 max, admittedly parking for the time I was in town would have cost me £4-5 but I would not have stayed in town so long if I had the car as I would have gone home and come back again later.
Oh and I asked if they did student rate bus fare and I was told yes, but only for under 20’s.

I don’t know if there was a discounted rate I could have got, who is responsible for setting fares or the justification for bus fares but Ipswich Buses if I had to do this journey regularily would I use the bus? Of course not.

(First you are not of the hock either as your buses on the routes near always make me feel sick.)
(Mileages courtesy of MultiMap)
I’ve just looked and apparently there is a Day Ticket which would have cost me less, however I didn’t know that at the time. Now I feel stupid!!!

