I found out this week that my Church’s Pastor / my Line Manager will be leaving in September. This was a bit of a shock, and I’m not really sure how I feel about it, in fact as I talk to more people about it, it starts to feel more and more strange.

I’m sitting here writing this before Church, wondering what it is going to be like this morning; is it going to be weird or just the same as normal1? I’ve not been in this situation before and I really do not know.

There are a lot of questions flying around, and a lot of potential implications of this decision. Over the last few days I have spoken to a few people, both in the church and other friends, and ultimately I know that I have to trust God that it will all be fine, remembering He is in charge.

As a father has compassion on his children, so the LORD has compassion on those who fear him; for he knows how we are formed, he remembers that we are dust.

As for man, his days are like grass, he flourishes like a flower of the field; the wind blows over it and it is gone, and its place remembers it no more.

But from everlasting to everlasting the LORD’s love is with those who fear him, and his righteousness with their children’s children—with those who keep his covenant and remember to obey his precepts.

Psalm 103:13-18 (NIV-UK)

Yeah, ‘deep down’ I know its going to be ok. It might be weird on a human level, but God has not changed, Jesus still died for us and we are still there to worship Him.

…Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,
“Never will I leave you;
never will I forsake you.”
So we say with confidence,
“The Lord is my helper;
I will not be afraid.
What can man do to me?”

Remember your leaders, who spoke the word of God to you. Consider the outcome of their way of life and imitate their faith.

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

Hebrews 13:5-8 (NIV)

Yeah, I think that is the answer, no matter what else changes the Lord stays the same – I’ve just got to remember that in 2 hours time and in 5 months time.

1 – Yes there is a difference

