Every year at Christmas time there is one thing that gets on my nerves, one thing that is guaranteed to wind me up. I call on you, yes you, to stand with me against this madness.

What is this blood boiling lunacy that I speak of? It is summed up in six words; ‘proclaim’, ‘Bethlehem’, ‘come’, ‘womb’, ‘peace’ and ‘righteousness’. It is not these words themselves that annoy me, nor their meaning. But when they are sung together with 155 other words to form the Hymn/carol ‘Hark the Herald Angels Sing’.

Throughout this carol, the last word of one line rhymes with the previous or next line. For example; ‘sing’ & ‘King’, ‘dwell’ & ‘Emmanuel’ and ‘earth’ & ‘birth’. But these six words standout like the sound of fingernails on a black board, and do not ryhme.

From Verse one

With angelic host proclaim:
“Christ is born in Bethlehem

Verse Two

Late in time behold Him come
Offspring of a Virgin’s womb

Verse Three

Hail the heav’n-born Prince of Peace!
Hail the Son of Righteousness!

It is possible to sing these lines and make them ryhme, therefore I ask you now, to join me when you are asked to sing this carol, and to sing ‘proclem’, ‘coom’ and ‘Righteousneace’.

