For the last few years whenever I’ve been with a group of people trying to pool ideas someone always says, ‘you can’t say brainstorming any more’, suggesting that the term is offensive to people with epilepsy.
[http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2005/jun/26/uk.politicalnews]

However I recently came across an article which suggests that ‘Brainstorming’ is NOT considered offensive. The article I read has since been removed, however I have found reference to the research on the National Society for Epilepsy Website;

“NSE recently conducted a small survey among people with the condition and the overwhelming response was that the term is not offensive when used in its correct context, defining a session amassing spontaneous ideas as potential solutions to a problem.” (http://www.epilepsynse.org.uk/Press/Backgrounders/Epilepsyterminology)

This always seemed riduculous to me, but I would be interested to know if anyone with epilepsy agrees or disagrees with the statement from the NSE.

